# Paper J1

Nominations committee

Trust and Pension nominations



## Paper J1



## Nominations Committee Trustee nominations

#### **Basic Information**

Contact name and email address	Carol Rogers carann@aol.com
Action required	Decision
Draft resolution(s)	Mission Council nominates the persons listed to serve as Trustees of the URC Trust and of the URC Ministers' Pension Trust Ltd with immediate effect until the dates indicated.

#### **Summary of Content**

Subject and aim(s)	Nomination of trustees.
Main points	See report
Previous relevant documents	Nominations report to General Assembly 2016
Consultation has taken place with	Trust Secretary, General Secretary

#### **Summary of Impact**

Financial	None
External (e.g. ecumenical)	Proper oversight of the Church's assets and duties, and of its Ministers' Pension Fund.

### **Trustee nominations**

1. Because of their formal responsibilities, the URC Trust and the URC Ministers' Pension Trust Ltd have particular rubrics for the nomination of Trustees. This paper amends and updates the portion of the Nominations Committee report to the 2016 General Assembly [on page 72 in the *Record of Assembly*] that dealt with these two bodies.

#### The URC Trust

- 2. The URC Trust has a standard term of service of four years, renewable once. Terms run to 31st August of the years indicated. The directors of the Trust appoint new directors from those appointed as members. The members of the Trust elect the chair from among their own number and appoint a secretary and deputy secretary.
- 3. The following have been nominated as members of the Trust. Those nominations marked \* refer either to new names or to further terms of office, and so need the express approval of this meeting of Mission Council.

Chair:

Secretary:

Deputy Secretary:

Members: Group 1 (Synods 1, 2, 3, 13)

Group 2 (Synods 6, 8, 9, 12)

Group 3 (Synods 4, 5, 7, 10, 11)

URC Youth Appointee: GA appointments:

од арропшнента.

Co-opted member:

Ex officio:

The Revd Richard Gray [2018]

Ms Sandi Hallam-Jones

Mr Andy Bottomley

Mr Neil Mackenzie (3) [2020] \*

Mr Peter Pay (9) [2022] \*

Dr Ian Harrison (8) [2020] \* The Revd Richard Gray (8) [2018]

Man Alastain Fanastis (4) [0000] \*

Mr Alastair Forsyth (4) [2020] \*

The Revd Michael Davies (11) [2018]

Mr Andrew Summers (10) [2018] Mrs Margaret Thompson (7) [2020] \*

vacant

Mr Emmanuel Osae [December 2019] \*

Mrs Val Morrison [2018] \*

Ms Catriona Wheeler [2020] \*

Moderators of General Assembly

**General Secretary** 

Deputy General Secretary (A & R)

Treasurer

Clerk to General Assembly

In attendance: Chief Finance Officer

Minute Secretary

Convenor of Investment Committee

#### The URC Ministers' Pension Trust Ltd

4. The URC Ministers' Pension Trust Ltd has a standard term of service of four years, renewable once. Terms run until the AGM in September. The directors of the Trust appoint new directors from those appointed as members. The board members appoint the company secretary, and elect the chair from among their own number.



5. The following are nominated as members of the Pensions Trust.

Chair:

Secretary:

Members of the URC:

Mr Richard Nunn

Ms Sandi Hallam-Jones

Miss Margaret Atkinson [2018]

Mr Andrew Perkins [2017] Mrs Bridget Micklem [2019]

6. The following have been nominated by members of the URC Ministers' Pension Fund to represent them on the URC Ministers' Pensions Trust Ltd. Mission Council may be glad to note these names, but the Church does not determine them:

The Revd James Breslin [2019]
The Revd Dr Janet Tollington [2019]
The Revd Paul Bedford [2018]
The Revd Derek Wales [2019]

7. The following are ex officio members of the URC Ministers' Pensions Trust Ltd:

Treasurer Convenor of the Pensions Executive Convenor, M of Ministry Subcommittee Convenor of the Investment Committee