# Paper J2

**Nominations committee** 

Supplementary report





# Paper J2

# **Nominations committee**

# Supplementary report

#### **Basic Information**

Contact name and email address	The Revd Ray Adams Mr George Faris	ray.adams12@btinternet.com gfaris48@gmail.com
Action required		
Draft resolution(s)	<ol> <li>Mission Council notes and approves the changes set out in Section A of the report to the list of nominations agreed in May 2017.</li> <li>Mission Council appoints according to the list of nominations in sections B and C of the report.</li> </ol>	

### **Summary of Content**

Subject and aim(s)	<ol> <li>To clarify various details of the nominations list.</li> <li>To appoint members of various committees and posts.</li> <li>To record the appointment of 3 review groups.</li> </ol>	
Main points	See detail of report.	
Previous relevant documents	Nominations list in minutes of Mission Council, May 2017.	
Consultation has taken place with	All synods are represented on the committee.	

## **Summary of Impact**

Financial	None
External	Some of these roles involve ecumenical contact and
(e.g. ecumenical)	collaboration.

# Nominations Supplementary report

#### A. Amendments to published list of nominations

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following additional amendments to the nominations list that was agreed in May 2017.

#### 2.4 Disciplinary process – commission panel

- i. Mrs Sue Bush, Mrs Mary Cummings and Mrs Irene Hudson have resigned.
- ii. Mr Philip Laws was appointed at the May 2017 Mission Council so his term ends in 2022, not 2023.

#### B. Extension of terms of service

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following extensions of terms of service:

#### 2.4 Disciplinary process – commission panel

Mr Alastair Forsyth to continue to serve to the end of General Assembly 2022.

#### 11.14 Westhill Endowment Trust

Mr Simon Rowntree to continue to serve until 30 June 2019.

Note: Mr Rowntree does not wish to serve a longer term.

## C. New appointments

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following appointments:

#### 2.4 Disciplinary process – commission panel

The Revd Dr Janet Tollington to be Convenor with immediate effect until the end of General Assembly 2020;

Mr Keith Webster to be Deputy Convenor with immediate effect until the end of General Assembly 2022;

#### 3.1.5 Rural strategy group (URC/Methodist)

Mr Charles Jolly and the Revd Elizabeth Kemp to be Members with immediate effect until 30 June 2021;

#### 4.1.5 Assessment board

Professor Bill Gould to be convenor-elect from the end of General Assembly 2018 and convenor from 1 July 2019 until the end of General Assembly 2024;

#### 5.5 The United Reformed Church Trust

Mr Andrew Weston to become a youth representative member of the Trust with immediate effect, for four years.

#### Congregational Memorial Hall Trust

Mr Philip Bonnier to represent the URC with immediate effect until 30 June 2021;

#### Retired Ministers' and Widows' Fund 11.9

Mrs Liz Sharples to represent the URC with immediate effect.

Note: the trustees of the fund serve without limit.

#### 11.12 URC History Society Council

Mrs Jean Wyber to represent the URC with immediate effect until the end of General Assembly 2022.

#### **Review groups** D.

#### Review groups have been formed for the following posts:

- Clerk of General Assembly convened by Mr John Ellis
- Eastern Synod Moderator convened by the Revd Bill Young (West Midlands)
- National Synod of Wales Moderator convened by the Revd Mike Shrubsole.