Paper J1

Nominations Committee

List of nominations



Paper J1



Nominations Committee

List of nominations

Basic Information

Contact name and email address	The Revd Ray Adams: ray.adams12@btinternet.com Mr George Faris: gfaris48@gmail.com
Action required	
Draft resolution(s)	Mission Council notes and approves the changes set out below to the list of Nominations agreed in May 2017.

Summary of Content

Subject and aim(s)	To clarify various details of the Nominations list.
Main points	See detail of report.
Previous relevant documents	Nominations list in Minutes of Mission Council, May 2017.
Consultation has taken place with	All synods are represented on the committee.

Summary of Impact

Financial	None
External	Some of these roles involve ecumenical contact and
(e.g. ecumenical)	collaboration.

List of Nominations

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following amendments to the Nominations list that was agreed in May 2017.

1.3 Law and Polity Group

- The full title of this group is Law and Polity Advisory Group.
- ii. Ms Denise FitzPatrick was appointed to be a member of the group from 2014 to 2018 so her second term ends in 2022, not 2021.
- iii. Mr George Faris will conclude 4 years representing the Synod Clerks in 2018, not 2020.

2.2 Nominations Committee

i. The Revd Dougie Burnett is now the South Western Synod member.

2.2.1 Panel for General Assembly Appointments

Ms Angela Coxon is unable to serve.

2.4 Disciplinary Process – Commission Panel

- i. Ms Judith Haughton, the convenor, has resigned.
- ii. The Revd Dr Janet Tollington, the deputy convenor, was appointed to serve to 2020.
- iii. Mrs Mary Slater (11) and the Revd Alan McGougan (13) were appointed in 2013 to serve until 2018, and should therefore be added to the Nominations List
- iv. The Revd Nigel Adkinson (2) was appointed in 2016 to serve until 2021 and should therefore be added to the Nominations List.
- v. Mr Andy Braunston (2) is now the Revd Andy Braunston (13).
- vi. Mrs Mary Kelly (11) was appointed at the 5/17 Mission Council so her term ends in 2022, not 2023.

2.5 Standing Panel for the Incapacity Procedure

- i. The Revd Dr Kirsty Thorpe was appointed to serve to 2022.
- ii. Dr David Westwood is the Commission Officer, not Office.
- iii. David Nash is Mr David Nash.

2.6 Pastoral Reference and Welfare Committee

i. Mrs Wilma Frew will conclude 4 years as convenor in 2019, not 2018.

3.1.5 Rural Strategy Group (United Reformed Church/Methodist)

- i. The Revd Ron Forster is no longer a member.
- ii. There are now 2 URC vacancies.

4.1.1 Ministries - Accreditation Sub-Committee

- The Revd Mark Robinson has resigned.
- ii. The Revd Russell Furley-Smith is convenor for the period 2017-21.

4.2 Education and Learning Committee

- i. The Revd Dr Neil Messer will conclude 4 years as convenor in 2019, not 2020.
- ii. The Revd Dr Jack Dyce is no longer a Resource Centre for Learning (RCL) principal.

5.3 Equalities Committee

- i. Mrs Ruth Clarke has resigned.
- ii. Mrs Pat Poinen (1) accepted an invitation in 2015 to serve until 2019 and should therefore be added to the Nominations List.

11.4 Congregational Memorial Hall Trust

i. Mr Graham Stacy has resigned.

11.9 Retired Ministers' and Widows' Fund

i. Mr Ken Meekison has resigned.

Westhill Endowment Trust

Ms Julie Grove was appointed in 2014 to serve until 2018 and should therefore be added to the Nominations List.