Paper J2

Nominations committee

Supplementary report

Basic information			
Contact name and email address	The Revd Ray Adams ray.adams12@btinternet.com Mr George Faris nominations.secretary@urc.org.uk		
Action required	None.		
Draft resolution(s)	 Mission Council notes and approves the changes set out in section A of the report. Mission Council appoints according to the list of nominations in section B of the report. Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council notes that the Methodist URC interfaith reference group no longer meets and approves the creation of the interfaith enabling group with the following membership: Convenor: The Revd Tracey Lewis (8) [2023] Members: The Revd Ann Jack (10) [2021], the Revd Bob Day (2) [2021] and Mr Andy Lie (1) [2023] 		

Summary of content

Subject and aim(s)	 To clarify various details of the nominations list. To appoint members of various committees and posts. 		
Main points	See detail of report.		
Previous relevant documents	Nominations list in the Record of Assembly 2018 as revised by decisions of Mission Council in November 2018.		
Consultation has taken place with	All synods are represented on the committee.		

Summary of impact

Financial	None.
FinancialNone.External (e.g. ecumenical)Some of these roles involve ecumenical contact and collaboration.	

Paper J2

Nominations: supplementary report

Amendments to published list of nominations

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following additional amendments to the nominations list that was agreed at Mission Council in November 2018 (available in the nominations section of the URC website at Nominations List):

1.4 Listed buildings advisory group

The group no longer covers listed building matters in Wales. The membership from 1 July 2019 will be:

Convenor: The Revd Dr James Mather [2022]** (nominated by the group) Secretary: Mr Geoff Milnes [2022]** (nominated by the group) Synod representatives:

The Revd Ray Anglesea (1) Ms Alison Lee (3) Mrs Judith Booth (5) Mr Peter West (7) Mr Gerry Prosser (9) Mr Guy Morfett (11) Ex officio: General Secretary

Mr Michael Williams (2) Mr David Figures (4) Mrs Rachel Wakeman (6) Mr Roger James (8) Mr Christopher Buckwell (10)

2.2 Nominations committee

i. Mr Tim Crossley is now the Yorkshire Synod member.

3.1 Mission committee

i. New members of the committee serving until the end of General Assembly 2023 are:

The Revd Sue Fender – Northern Synod The Revd Robert Bushby – East Midlands Synod Mr Simon Fairnington – Thames North Synod

- ii. Mr John Collings will continue to represent the National Synod of Scotland until the end of General Assembly 2021.
- iii. There will be vacancies for Yorkshire and Southern Synod members.

3.1.2 Commitment for Life (CfL) reference group

- i. Mrs Linda Mead has retired.
- ii. Add: The Revd Dr Kevin Snyman (Programme Officer for Global Justice and Partnerships)

Paper J2

4.4 Walking the Way steering group

i. Add:

Children's and Youth Work Representative: Ms Ruth White Education and Learning Committee Representative: Mr Alan Yates Resource Centres for Learning Representative: The Revd Peter Ball Training and Development Officers Representative: The Revd Dr Jim Coleman

6.3 Congregational Federation

i. The URC representative to meetings of the Congregational Federation is now nominated by the mission committee.

6.4 Church of Scotland

i. Delete: 'chaplain'.

6.10 Presbyterian Church of Wales

ii. Replace 'Synod Nomination' with 'Assembly Moderator'.

6.14 Provincial Synod of the Moravian Church

iii. The URC representative to meetings of the Provincial Synod of the Moravian Church is now nominated by the mission committee.

7.2 World Communion of Reformed Churches General Council

iv. Replace current representatives with 'Representatives are appointed for each meeting of the General Council'.

7.5 Churches Together in Britain and Ireland (CTBI)

- v. The URC is represented on the CTBI Middle East Contact Group by the Secretary for Ecumenical and Interfaith Relations.
- vi. The URC is represented on the CTBI Korea Group by the Revd David Grosch-Miller.

7.6 Churches Together in England (CTE)

- vii. The following groups no longer exist:
 - 7.6.2 CTE Coordinating Group for Local Unity
 - 7.6.3 CTE Churches Together for Healing
 - 7.6.4 CTE Churches' Theology and Unity Group
 - 7.6.6 CTE Spirituality Coordinating Group
 - 7.6.7 CTE Minority Ethnic Affairs Group

7.6.8 CTE joint liturgical group

- viii. This group no longer exists.
- ix. The joint liturgical group is a freestanding ecumenical group covering Great Britain. It is not formally linked to Churches Together in Britain and Ireland or Churches Together in England. The URC is represented by the Revd Dr Ana Gobledale. The group should be added as an independent group.



7.13 Churches' Refugee Network

x. The Churches' Refugee Network is now a Churches Together in Britain and Ireland group and should be moved to section 7.5. The URC is represented by the Revd Fleur Houston.

7.17 Fresh Expressions

- xi. The correct title is 'Fresh Expressions Board'
- xii. The future of this board is under review.

8.1 Methodist/United Reformed Church Liaison Group

- i. Delete: the Revd Kay Alberg
- ii. Add: the Revd John Bremner and the Revd Tim Richards.

11.7 Methodist faith and order committee

i. The URC no longer sends a representative to this committee.

New appointments

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following appointments:

Ref	Committee/Group	Name	Role	From	Years
2.4	Disciplinary Process commission panel	Mrs Pat Poinen	Member [†]	Jul19	5
4.1	Ministries committee	Revd Stuart Scott	Member	Jul19	4
4.1.4	Retired Ministers' Housing subcommittee	Mr Malcolm Lindo	Member [†]	Jul19	1
4.1.4	Retired Ministers' Housing subcommittee	Mr Peter West	Member [†]	Jul19	1
4.1.5	Assessment board	Revd Gerald England	Member	Jul19	5
11.3	Congregational fund board	Mrs Mary Steele	Member	Jul19	4
11.14	Westhill Endowment Trust	Revd Leonora Jagessar-Visser 't	Member	Jul19	4
		Hooft			

Interfaith enabling group

The mission committee advises that the Methodist/URC interfaith reference group no longer meets. It has been replaced by a URC-only group. Mission Council is asked to approve the following resolution:

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council notes that the Methodist URC interfaith reference group no longer meets and approves the creation of the interfaith enabling group with the following membership:

Convenor: The Revd Tracey Lewis (8) [2023] Members: The Revd Ann Jack (10) [2021] The Revd Bob Day (2) [2021] Mr Andy Lie (1) [2023]