Paper J1

Nominations committee

List of nominations





Paper J1

Nominations committee

List of Nominations

Basic Information

Contact name and email address	The Revd Ray Adams Mr George Faris	ray.adams12@btinternet.com gfaris48@gmail.com
Action required		
Draft resolution(s)	 Mission Council notes and approves the changes set out in Section A of the report to the list of Nominations agreed in May 2017 and as amended in November 2017. Mission Council appoints according to the list of nominations in section B and C of the report. Mission Council agrees the changes to the governance of Westminster College in section D of the report. 	

Summary of Content

Subject and aim(s)	 To clarify various details of the Nominations list. To appoint members of various committees and posts. To review the governance of Westminster College. 	
Main points	See detail of report.	
Previous relevant documents	Nominations list in Minutes of Mission Council, May 2017. Mission Council Papers JI and J2, November 2017.	
Consultation has taken place with	All synods are represented on the committee. Westminster College.	

Summary of Impact

Financial	None
External	Some of these roles involve ecumenical contact and
(e.g. ecumenical)	collaboration.

List of Nominations

A. Amendments to published list of nominations

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following additional amendments to the Nominations list that was agreed in May 2017 and amended in November 2017.

2.2 Nominations committee

i. The National Synod of Wales member is now the Revd Adrian Bulley.

3.1 Mission committee

i. Ms Chris Eddowes has succeeded the Revd Ron Forster as the Northern Synod member. Chris will serve until 30 June 2021.

3.1.5 Rural Strategy Group (United Reformed Church/Methodist Church)

- i. The Revd Steve Faber has succeeded the Revd Ruth Whitehead as the Synod Moderator co-chairing the group. Steve will serve until 30 June 2021.
- ii. The Revd Peter Ball serves on this group, and should therefore be added to the Nominations List. Peter will serve until the end of General Assembly 2020.

4.1 Ministries committee

i. The Revd Sally Thomas was appointed to serve to 2019, not 2018.

B. Extension of term of service

1.4 Listed buildings advisory group (LBAG)

The Convenor of the Listed Buildings Advisory Group is appointed by Mission Council on the recommendation of the LBAG. The Convenor is normally appointed for three years at a time, and normally for a limit of two terms. Mr Peter West (Eastern Synod) will complete six years' service as Convenor at the 2018 Assembly. The group would like Mr West to stay on for one further year, and he would be willing to do so, but he does not wish to serve longer than that. LBAG will expect to recommend a new name during 2018, to take over as Convenor in July 2019.

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council extends the term of service of Mr Peter West as Convenor of the listed buildings advisory group to 30 June 2019.

C. New appointments

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following appointments:

1.3 Law and polity advisory group

The Revd Dr John Bradbury to be Convenor-Elect with immediate effect and Convenor from the end of General Assembly 2018 until the end of General Assembly 2022.

2.6 Pastoral Reference and Welfare committee

Professor Malcolm Johnson to be a member with immediate effect until the end of General Assembly 2022.

5.3 Equalities committee

The Revd Anne Lewitt to be Convenor-Elect with immediate effect and Convenor from the end of General Assembly 2018 until the end of General Assembly 2022.

9.2 Westminster College: Board of Governors

The Revd Jan Adamson to be a Governor from the end of General Assembly 2018 until the end of General Assembly 2024.

D. Board of Governors at Westminster College

The nominations committee was asked recently about the length of service of General Assembly appointed governors at Westminster College. The governance of the college was considered by Mission Council in May 2013 (see Paper J5: *The Composition of the Board of Governors at Westminster College*) and by General Assembly in 2014 when Resolution 30 removed the Secretary for Education and Learning from the list of governors – the secretary now attends meetings of the board but is not a governor.

After discussions with interested parties the following resolution is brought to Mission Council:

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council agrees:

1. There shall be 3 classes of Governors of Westminster College:

- Class A: nominated by the nominations committee and appointed by General Assembly or Mission Council for a six-year term, which may be renewed. The nominations committee will ensure a regular rotation of Governors.
- Class B: nominated by a General Assembly nominating group and appointed by General Assembly or Mission Council.
- Class C: appointed by the named institution or group.
- 2. The 15 Governors shall be as follows:

Ref	Class	Role
1	Α	Convenor
2	Α	Clerk (to the Governors)
3	Α	Honorary Treasurer (of the College)
4	Α	General Assembly Governor 1
5	Α	General Assembly Governor 2
6	Α	General Assembly Governor 3
7	Α	General Assembly Governor 4
8	Α	General Assembly Governor 5
9	В	Principal
10	С	Cambridge Theological Federation representative
11	С	University of Cambridge representative
12	С	Anglia Ruskin University representative

13	С	Teaching Staff representative
14	С	Student representative
15	С	Cheshunt Foundation representative

3. The Secretary for Education and Learning and the URC Treasurer are normally in attendance.