Paper J1

List of nominations

Nominations committee

Basic information

Contact name and email address	Ray Adams ray.adams12@btinternet.com George Faris nominations.secretary@urc.org.uk		
Action required			
Draft resolution(s)	 Mission Council notes the changes set out in Section 1 of the report to the list of Nominations agreed at the November 2019 meeting of Mission Council. Mission Council notes and approves the changes set out in Section 2 of the report to the list of Nominations agreed at the November 2019 meeting of Mission Council. Mission Council appoints according to the nominations in Section 3 of the report. 		

Summary of content

Subject and aim(s)	 To clarify various details of the nominations list. To appoint and reappoint members of various committees and representatives of the Church. To appoint a new moderator for the East Midlands Synod. 	
Main points		
Previous relevant documents	Nominations list as at November 2019: www.urc.org.uk/images/Yearbook/Nominations-List.pdf	
Consultation has taken place with	All synods are represented on the Committee.	

Summary of impact

Financial	None.
External (e.g. ecumenical)	Some roles involve ecumenical contact and collaboration.



1. Amendments to published list of nominations to be noted

Mission Council is asked to note the following amendments to the Nominations list that was agreed at the November 2019 meeting of Mission Council.

1.2 Human Resources Advisory Group

Correct Alistair Forsyth to Alastair Forsyth.

1.8 Environmental Task Group

The November 2019 meeting of Mission Council appointed the Revd David Coleman and Ms Alison Greaves to the group (Paper I2).

1.9 Business Committee

Ms Sandra Bailey will serve to General Assembly 2023, not General Assembly 2024 – see Mission Council May 2019 Paper N1 paragraph 3.6.

2.1 Faith and Order Committee

The Revd Dr Rosalind Selby has resigned.

3.1.3 Interfaith Enabling Group

The Revd Bob Day has resigned. The Revd Dr John Parry serves on the group as a co-opted member.

4.1 Ministries Committee

Mrs Jenny Sheehan is serving as Leadership in Worship Advocate to the end of General Assembly 2021.

4.2.2 Stepwise Task and Finish Group

Mr Leo Roberts has replaced the Revd David Downing as the Children's and Youth Work Committee representative.

5.1 Assembly Arrangements Committee

The General Secretary has replaced the Facilities Manager as secretary of the committee.

5.3 Equalities Committee

- i. Ms Pam Gold and Mr Jake Convery have resigned.
- ii. Ms Katherine Buckland has resigned on ceasing to be URC Youth Equalities and Diversity Representative.
- iii. The Equalities Committee and the URC Youth Executive have agreed that the URC Youth Equalities and Diversity Representative will represent URC Youth on the committee.

5.5.2 Remuneration Committee

The Chief Finance Officer is not a member of the committee but is in attendance. The Church House Staff Representative is not a member of the committee but attends when invited.



11.4 Congregational Memorial Hall Trust

- i. Mrs Margaret Thompson is serving to General Assembly 2020.
- ii. The Revd Derek Wales is serving to General Assembly 2021.
- iii. Mr John Ellis and Mr Simon Fairnington are serving to General Assembly 2023.
- iv. Representatives serve four-year terms, which may be renewed.

11.5 English Heritage's places of worship forum

- i. This has become Historic England Places of Worship Forum.
- ii. The URC representative is the convenor of the Listed Buildings Advisory Group.

2. Amendments to published list of nominations for approval

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following amendments to the Nominations list that was agreed at the November 2019 meeting of Mission Council:

Further to Mission Council's approval of a new remit for the Pilots subcommittee (see: www.urc.org.uk/images/B1_-_Update_November_2019.pdf):

- i. The membership of the **Children's and Youth Work Committee** includes the Convenor, Pilots subcommittee and the Pilots representative.
- ii. The membership of the Pilots subcommittee is: Convenor: Mrs Margaret Smith [2022] Members: Resources: vacancy Pilots representative on Children's and Youth Work Committee: Mr Derek Goodyear [2021] Regional Pilot officers: two vacancies Children and Youth Development Officer and team representative: vacancy URC Youth Pilots representative: vacancy Pilots company representatives/Friends On Faith Adventures group representatives: two to four vacancies Members are nominated by the children's and youth work committee and serve one or two two-year terms.

8.5 Roman Catholic/United Reformed Church Dialogue Group

The Mission Committee has appointed the following to represent the URC in phase three of the Roman Catholic/URC dialogue: The Revd Dr John Bradbury (Co-chair), the Revd Philip Brooks (Co-secretary), Mr

John Cornell, the Revd Dr Sarah Hall, the Revd Jason McCullagh and the Revd Lindsey Sanderson.

3. New appointments and re-appointments

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following appointments:

Ref	Committee/Group	Name	Role	From	То
1.3	Law and Polity Advisory Group	Ms Morag McLintock	Convenor-Elect**	Mar20	GA20
1.3	Law and Polity Advisory Group	Ms Morag McLintock	Convenor**	GA20	GA24
2.2.1	Panel for General Assembly Appointments	The Revd Sal Bateman	Member**	Mar20	GA24
11.4	Congregational Memorial Hall Trust	Mrs Margaret Thompson	Representative [†]	GA20	GA24

Key: ** = new appointment, † = extension of term of service.

East Midland Synod Moderator

The East Midlands Synod Moderator Nominating Group brings forward the name of the Revd Geoffrey Clarke, presently serving in East Midlands Synod.

Mission Council, acting on behalf of General Assembly, is invited to resolve as follows:

Mission Council appoints the Revd Geoffrey Clarke to be Moderator of the East Midlands Synod from 1 May 2020 to 30 April 2027.