Paper J1

List of nominations

Nominations committee

Basic information

Contact name and email address			
Action required			
Draft resolution(s)	 Mission Council notes the changes set out in Section 1 of the report to the list of nominations agreed at the November 2020 meeting of Mission Council. Mission Council appoints according to the nominations in Section 2 of the report. 		

Summary of content

Subject and aim(s)	 To clarify various details of the nominations list. To appoint and reappoint members of various committees and representatives of the Church. To note proposed appointments to be made at General Assembly 2021. To note the creation of a nominating group. 	
Main points		
Previous relevant documents	Nominations list as at December 2020: https://urc.org.uk/images/Yearbook/Nominations-List.pdf	
Consultation has taken place with	All synods are represented on the committee.	

Summary of impact

Financial	None.
External (e.g. ecumenical)	Some roles involve ecumenical contact and collaboration.



1. Amendments to published list of nominations to be noted

Mission Council is asked to note the following amendments to the nominations list that was agreed at the November 2020 meeting of Mission Council.

4.2.2 Stepwise Task and Finish Group

The Revd Stuart Radcliffe represents the Synod Mission Enablers Network rather than the Mission Committee.

9.2 Westminster College: board of governors

The Revd Samantha White has succeeded the Revd Neil Thorogood as Principal.

2. New appointments

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council makes the following appointments:

Ref	Committee / Group	Name	Role	From	То
1.2	Law & Polity Advisory Group	The Revd Steven Manders**	Member	Mar21	GA25
1.5	Environmental Task Group	The Revd Dr Rosalind Selby**	Member	Mar21	
2.1	Faith and Order Committee	The Revd Tessa Henry-Robinson**	Member	Mar21	GA27

Key: ** = new appointment

3. Appointments to be made at General Assembly 2021

The Nominations Committee advises that those listed below have accepted invitations to serve from the end of this year's General Assembly, which will be asked to appoint them. This is a provisional list – there will be further nominations for consideration at Assembly.

Ref	Committee / Group	Name	Role	From	То
2.2.1	Panel for General Assembly Appointments	The Revd Reginald Mudenda	Member ^{††}	GA21	GA26
		(11)			
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	The Revd Nigel Adkinson (2)	Member [†]	GA21	GA26
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	Mr Ian Corless (9)	Member [†]	GA21	GA26
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	Dr David Jones (5)	Deputy	GA21	GA26
			Convenor [†]		
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	Dr David Jones (5)	Member [†]	GA21	GA26
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	The Revd Dr Kirsty Thorpe (2)	Member [†]	GA21	GA26
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	Mrs Janet Virr (4)	Member [†]	GA21	GA26
4.1	Ministries Committee	Chris Kellett	Member**	GA21	GA25
4.3	Children's and Youth Work Committee	The Revd Julian Sanders	Member	GA21	GA25
5.4	Finance Committee	Mr Vaughan Griffiths	Deputy	GA21	GA25
			Treasurer**		
5.4	Finance Committee	Mr Gordon Wanless	Member [†]	GA21	GA25
8.1	Methodist/URC Liaison Group	The Revd Geoffrey Clarke	Co-Convenor**	GA21	GA26
11.4	Congregational Memorial Hall Trust	The Revd Derek Wales	Representative [†]	GA21	GA25

Key: ** = new appointment, † = extension of term of service, †† further term of service

4. Nominating group

Eastern Synod Moderator Nominating Group

The Nominations Committee advises that a nominating group has been created to seek a new moderator for the Eastern Synod. The group will be convened by Mrs Val Morrison.