



# **Nominations Committee**

## 1. Moderator for the Synod of Wales

The Group appointed to nominate a new Moderator of the Synod of Wales, convened by the Revd Roz Harrison, recommends the appointment of the Revd Simon Walkling to serve as Moderator of the Synod of Wales.

## 2. Review/Appointing Groups

The following have agreed to convene Review/Appointing Groups during 2012:

• Appointing Group:

Mr Duncan Smith: Moderator of the South Western Synod.

• Review Groups:

Mr Chris Maple: Moderator of the Northern Synod.

Revd John Durell: Secretary for Ministries.

Revd John Oldershaw: Secretary for Racial Justice and Multicultural Ministry.

#### 3. United Reformed Church Trust

It is hoped to bring nominations for the three impending vacancies on the United Reformed Church Trust to Mission Council. Discussions between Nominations Committee and the Board about these appointments are in hand.

#### 4. Past Moderators of General Assembly

The process by which the "college" of former Moderators of General Assembly nominate two of their number of attend the next General Assembly is almost complete. The outcome should be known shortly.

## 5. Other appointments

- The CCLA has offered the United Reformed Church two places on its new COIF Advisory Board for the Ethical Fund in which the United Reformed Church is heavily invested.
  Nominations Committee recommends the appointment of Mr John Ellis and Mr Andrew McKenzie, with immediate effect.
- 3.1.3 Revd Catey Morrison has withdrawn as Convener elect of the Ministries Maintenance of Ministry Sub-Committee from General Assembly 2012. A replacement is being sought.
- 4.6 Mrs Carol Rogers has agreed to serve as Secretary elect of the Nominations Committee from General Assembly 2012.
- 4.8 Mrs Jane Woods-Scawen has withdrawn as Secretary elect of the Disciplinary Process Commission Panel. A replacement is being sought to become Secretary from General Assembly 2012.

Mission Council, acting on behalf of General Assembly, appoints the Revd Simon Walkling to serve as Moderator of the Synod of Wales from 1 September 2012 to 31 August 2019.

Mission Council, acting on behalf of General Assembly, appoints Mr John Ellis and Mr Andrew McKenzie to serve on the COIF Advisory Board for the Ethical Fund.