Resolution 28

Nominations: Supplementary Report

Basic Information

Contact name and email address	The Revd Ray Adams:ray.adams12@btinternet.comMr George Faris:nominations.secretary@urc.org.uk			
Action required	Decision			
Draft resolution(s)	See Resolution 28 in the Book of Reports for General Assembly 2020			

Summary of Content

Subject and aim(s)	This is the supplementary report referred to in the Nominations Committee report to General Assembly 2020. It provides additions, amendments and corrections.	
Main points		
Previous relevant documents	Nominations Committee report to General Assembly 2020 (Book of Reports pp204-223)	
Consultation has taken place with		

Summary of Impact

Financial	None
External (e.g. ecumenical)	Some roles involve ecumenical contact and collaboration.

1. Amendments to published list of nominations to be noted

Mission Council is asked to note the following amendments to the Nominations list in the Book of Reports for General Assembly 2020:

2.2.1 Panel for General Assembly Appointments

Ms Sandra Bailey has resigned from the panel.

5.1 Business Committee

Ms Sandra Bailey has resigned from the committee.

2.4 Disciplinary Process – Commission Panel

The Revd Dr Janet Tollington, should be included in the list of those retiring in 2025.

4.1.4 Assessment Board

Ms Karen Campbell has resigned from the board.

4.5 Worship Reference Group

The Deputy General Secretary (Discipleship) should be added as a member.

9.2 Westminster College Board of Governors

The Revd Dr Rick Mearkle will resign from the Westminster College Board of Governors on 31 August 2020 to take up a part-time teaching post at the college.

2. Amendments to published list of nominations for approval

Mission Council is asked to note and approve the following amendments to the Nominations list in the Book of Reports for General Assembly 2020:

4.1.1 Accreditations (CRCW+SCM) Subcommittee

The Secretary for Ministries and the CRCW Development Worker will act as Joint Secretaries, as this new subcommittee builds up experience in handling its remit. A further resolution will be brought to Mission Council or General Assembly, not later than spring 2022, either amending this arrangement or extending it.

4.2.2 Stepwise task and finish group

The latest membership is:

Convenor: Professor Graham Handscomb

Administrator: Stepwise Programme Assistant

Secretary for Education and Learning

Education & Learning Instructional Designer Project Manager for *Walking the Way* Education & Learning Programme Officer (by invitation) Representatives – serving appropriate terms of service:

Stepwise Programme Manager

Children's and youth work committee: Mr Leo Roberts Mission committee: The Revd Stuart Nixon Synod training and development officers: The Revd Peter Henderson Resource Centres for Learning: a tutor Together Ethnic and Minority URC The Revd Zaidie Orr

Co-opted Members – co-opted by the Education and learning committee for appropriate terms of service:

Mr Pete Atkins (Fresh Expressions) The Revd David Downing Mr Iain Johnston (Faith in Community Scotland)

8.1 Methodist/United Reformed Church Liaison Group

- i. The Synod Moderators have nominated the Revd Paul Whittle as the URC coconvenor for a further year.
- ii. The Ecumenical & Interfaith Officer for the National Synod of Scotland (the Revd John Bremner) is a member of the group.
- iii. The Ecumenical & Interfaith Officer for the National Synod of Wales (vacancy) is a member of the group.
- iv. The Revd Roy Fowler is serving until the end of General Assembly 2021.
- v. The Revd Tim Richards is serving until the end of General Assembly 2024.
- vi. Nominated members serve 5-year terms, which may be renewed.

3. New appointments and re-appointments

Acting on behalf of General Assembly, Mission Council is asked to make the following additional appointments and re-appointments to those listed in Book of Reports for General Assembly 2020:

Ref	Committee/Group	Name	Role	From	То
2.1	Faith and order committee	The Revd Dr Robert Pope**	Convenor	GA20	GA26
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	Mrs Vivien Andrew**	Member	GA20	GA25
2.4	Disciplinary Process Commission Panel	The Revd Andy Braunston [†]	Member	GA20	GA25
2.7	Safeguarding advisory group	Mrs Jane Dowdell**	Member	GA20	GA23
4.1.4	Assessment Board	Ms Mercy Nimako [†]	Member	GA20	GA25
4.1.4	Assessment Board	Ms Liz Sharples**	Member	GA20	GA25
4.1.4	Assessment Board	The Revd Samuel Silungwe**	Member	GA20	GA25
5.4.1	Pensions Committee	Ms Joana Marfoh**	Member	GA20	GA24
5.4.1	Pensions Committee	Mr Richard Nunn**	Convenor	GA20	GA22
5.5	United Reformed Church Trust	Mr David Greatorex**	Member	GA20	GA24
5.5	United Reformed Church Trust	The Revd Nick Mark**	Member	GA20	GA24
5.5.1	Church House Management Group	Dr Ian Harrison**	Member	GA20	GA24
5.7	Investment committee	Mr Lyndon Thomas**	Member	GA20	GA24
9.2	Westminster College Board of Governors	The Revd Stuart Scott**	Governor	1 Sep 20	31 Aug 21
10.5	Silcoates School	The Revd Jason McCullagh**	Governor	GA20	GA23
	Thames North Synod	The Revd Dr Andrew Prasad [†]	Moderator	1 Mar 21	31 May 21
	Southern Synod	The Revd Bridget Banks**	Moderator	1 Sep 20	31 Aug 27

Key: ** = new appointment, † = extension of term of service.

Note: The latest approved Nominations list is available at bit.ly/URCNom. It will be revised shortly after the July 2020 meeting of Mission Council.